The Department of Architectural Design traces its lineage to the very foundation of the Architectural College in 1830. Even then, the education was structured to train engineer architects and not drawers.


The Architectural College was merged with the Civil Engineering College to form the College of Civil Engineers and the engineering line in architectural training got even stronger.


The first group of architects graduated from the College of Civil Engineers.


The College of Civil Engineers was transformed into the Institute of Civil Engineers. The architectural training was expanded. By the end of the 19th century, the majority of city architects in all provinces o the Russian Empire were graduates of the Institute of Civil Engineers. More than one fourth of all buildings in historical urban development of St. Petersburg were built by architects taught at the Institute.


Up until 1905, the educational pattern remained unchanged: all students first got fundamental engineering training and architectural specialization was introduced only after three first years of study. In 1905, purely architectural specialization was introduced and in 1906, the architectural department was founded. It was extremely popular among applicants: up to 5 people competed for one seat at the department. By then, a well-established architectural school, harmonically combining engineering and architectural training components had already been established.


First World War, the Revolution and Civil War caused serious negative impact in the architectural progress in St. Petersburg and the country as a whole. However, already in 1919, the Institute got back into active functioning with three faculties in its structure, the architectural faculty being one of those. By that time, the structure of our department was already well-shaped. Among the teachers and students here were many actual and future prominent architects: A.I. Dmitriev, N. A. Trotsky, L. M. Khidekel, N. N. Bashnin, A. A. Nikolsky and others.


In 1931, the Department of Architectural Design and Drawing was established. Architectural training functions got accumulated at it. Though in 1932/1933 academic year the total number of specializations at the Institute was reduced, that did not affect architectural training. In 1936/1937 academic year, a new training system was introduced: all architects-to-be had been studying under the same curricula for the three first years, and after that were divided into different specialization, e.g., residential and public buildings, urban planning, etc.

1945 - 1980s

In the post-World War II period, the Department expanded training of urban architects which met the demands f boisterously developing civil engineering in the country brutally destroyed during the war. The Department was actively engaged in the development of the science of architecture. Department’s teachers made a major contribution in the creation of the cities of Navoi and Shevchenko in the 1960s – 1980s. A complex urban planning or these cities was designed: both townships were established in extreme natural conditions and the work had to be started from the scratch. The input of the Department’s specialists was highly appreciated and recognized among the professional communication for the creation of humane environment in unfavorable surroundings.

The 21st century

In the 21st century, the department’s traditions have been carefully preserved and developed. Among the leading architects of St. Petersburg are the names of the graduates of the department: E. L. Gerasimova, Yu. P. Gruzdeva, Yu. I. Zemtsova, M. O. Kondiina, V. V. Popov, T. P. Sadovsky, S. I. Sokolov, M. A. Reinberg, and others.

The teaching staff of the department has extensive practical experience in the field of architecture. Three full professors and eight associate professors are on the staff; many teachers have academic degrees and titles: 2 doctors of architecture, 6 candidates of science, two corresponding members of the Russian Academy of Architecture and Construction Sciences (L.P. Lavrov, Yu.I. Kurbatov), members of the International Academy of Architecture (L.P. Lavrov , Yu. I. Kurbatov, O. S. Romanov). Professor O. S. Romanov is President of the St. Petersburg Union of Architects, and 18 teachers are members of the Union of Architects of Russia

The lecturers of the department are practicing architects, many head architectural bureaus. These are S. I. Ivanov, A. V. Mikhalychev, F. V. Perov, L. A. Venatovskaya, I. A. Ivanov, B. L. Krundyshev, O. S. Romanov, Yu. P. Gruzdev, I.N. Demenov, V.E. Lyavdansky, N.S. Novokhodskaya, E.G. Voitsekhovskaya.


  • Faculty of environmental engineering and municipal services
    Faculty of environmental engineering and municipal services
  • Faculty of automobile and road-building
    Faculty of automobile and road-building
  • Faculty of economics and management
    Faculty of economics and management
  • Faculty of architecture
    Faculty of architecture
  • Faculty of civil engineering
    Faculty of civil engineering
  • Faculty of forensic investigation and law in construction and transport
    Faculty of forensic investigation and law in construction and transport
Contact us:
Enter captcha: Refresh image

Refresh image